2006 V-Star 1100 Custom Starting problems - Star Motorcycle Forums: Star Raider, V-Max, V-Star, Road-Star Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 05-10-2010, 12:13 PM Thread Starter

2006 V-Star 1100 Custom Starting problems

Lately I'm experiencing a problem that I thought someone may be able to offer some insight into. My issue revolves around starting the bike.

I have an 06 V-Star 1100 custom with about 25K miles on the odometer that’s giving me some problem staring…sometimes

I'll start out by confessing that I don't have a lot of experience with bike maintenance. I was a general helicopter mechanic in the Army so I do have some wrench time, just not on bikes.

I haven’t been able to rule out ambient air or bike engine temperatures because it doesn't seem to matter. It just seems really intermittent.

I have a new battery and I’ve verified that the charging system is performing A-OK.

Here are the symptoms.

Sometimes the bike starts perfect and sometimes it just turns over and over. When it finally starts, it’s a little “gurgly” at first (maybe too much fuel or maybe not enough) and then smooths out after a couple of good revs. Sometimes it gives me a dull thud and acts like it’s struggling to turn the engine. Turning off my passing lamps will sometimes help. Again, it’s an intermittent problem. Some days it starts fine every time during that particular day. Sometimes I can start it, turn it off, start it again and again with no problem.

After reading a lot of articles on this forum, I have three suspects. The starter or starter clutch or the throttle position sensor (TPS).

If anyone has had a similar issue or can tell me how to rule these out without major disassemble or throwing a bunch of money at it to troubleshoot, I’d appreciate it. I can do medium level testing & maintenance but I have no expensive electronic machines at home. I do have plenty of hand tools, a multimeter etc.

Thanks a million.

Tombstone