type of oil - Star Motorcycle Forums: Star Raider, V-Max, V-Star, Road-Star Forum
» Insurance
» Sponsors
» Our Partners
»ATV Reviews
»Motorcycle Games
Go Back   Star Motorcycle Forums: Star Raider, V-Max, V-Star, Road-Star Forum > Motorcycle Models > V Star

Old 06-05-2010, 12:02 PM   #1
ngdoctor

Default type of oil

Hi everyone I'm a newbie on this site. I have a question about brands of oil to use on my v-star 650 and 1100's. I've been using yamaha brand oil all this time. but my brother says to save money and use regular automotive oil. just don't use the ones that has the energy conserving label. he says that he's been using it in his bike ( kawasaki concours) the past several years without any problems. but his bike isn't air cooled. does anyone have any suggestions about this. Thanks
ngdoctor is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 06-05-2010, 03:52 PM   #2
bruceanddixie

Quote:
Originally Posted by ngdoctor View Post
Hi everyone I'm a newbie on this site. I have a question about brands of oil to use on my v-star 650 and 1100's. I've been using yamaha brand oil all this time. but my brother says to save money and use regular automotive oil. just don't use the ones that has the energy conserving label. he says that he's been using it in his bike ( kawasaki concours) the past several years without any problems. but his bike isn't air cooled. does anyone have any suggestions about this. Thanks
I've been riding for a lot of years and have been told, and do believe, don't skrimp on the quality of your oil. It's the engines life blood. For the first time, I changes over to synthetic. Just rode my 1100 classic from Seattle to the Laughlin River Run and the bike has never run better.
bruceanddixie is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2010, 06:07 PM   #3
HTMNKYLVE