New/older Rider - Star Motorcycle Forums: Star Raider, V-Max, V-Star, Road-Star Forum
 10Likes
  • 6 Post By Rufus49
  • 1 Post By NorthernRider
  • 1 Post By redcat
  • 2 Post By Rufus49

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 9 (permalink) Old 09-30-2018, 07:40 PM Thread Starter
Premium Member

Garage
New/older Rider

Greetings, from Yuba City CA (45 miles north of Sacramento). I started riding when I was 15 1/2 and rode for nearly the next 10 years, except for sometime in the USAF, but stopped after a pickup crossed the white line and we collided head-on at about 30mph. I received a dime size carpet and a destroyed motorcycle but will never forget the sound of my helmet scraping down the asphalt.

Fast forward many years, I'm 69, and I realized some changes must come about after a great loss. I decided to ride again so I can see all the places that I could only pass-by as a truck driver. All during the time I was driving I filled in on working on everything from lawn mowers to 18 wheeler's. To say the least, and with modesty, I understand how mechanical objects work.

When I started my motorcycle search I was interested in a touring bike, after riding a few I realized I needed a bike with a lower seat height so I switched my search to a cruiser bike. I have ridden Harleys before and always preferred sportsters so when I saw the Yamaha V-star I was hooked (sorry Honda all the rest). I imagined buying a 1100 or 1300 classic, but no! I kept being drawn to the 650’s. I realized from my short tenure as a car salesman, buying iron is not a rational decision.

I finally pulled the plug on a 2005 Yamaha V-star midnight custom, pictured below. I realize the fuel limits but I'll use the phone app Waze for finding fuel stops.

I chose StarBike forums as it is an active, friendly and knowledgeable place. I hope to meet many of you on the forums and a few in person.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	vstar5.jpg
Views:	50
Size:	102.9 KB