gear and jerking - Star Motorcycle Forums: Star Raider, V-Max, V-Star, Road-Star Forum
 1Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 20 (permalink) Old 02-18-2014, 09:21 PM Thread Starter

gear and jerking

Folks,

I'm very new to getting back into riding. I bought a bike a little while back (a star 950) and tonight I took it out for the first time. This was my first ride since high school so it was rough. The ride was short, a mile up the road to a convenience store with a short detour through a parking lot doing some low speed riding and back home.

One thing that stood out though, on the way home especially, was that occasionally, the bike would jerk back and forth with no throttle while in gear just coasting along. Is this a sign that I'm in too high of a gear for the speed? The way home tonight involves going down a really steep hill so there wasn't a need to give the bike throttle. I'd pull in the clutch a bit and the problem would go away. At one point I was in second and I downshifted to first since I was going at such a low speed. The bike jerked back a bit but nothing too bad.

I wish I could describe the issue more, but with this being the first ride in probably 15 years (probably more) it was a little overwhelming.

I guess the questions are:
1. How much use of the clutch is too much use of the clutch?
2. How do I know when to downshift?

Part of the problem is that this Vtwin just doesn't relay well, to me at least, when an upshift or a downshift needs to happen. It just sounds like it's motoring right along.

I'm kind of nervous to do stuff since I'm so focused on just not dying. My turns are too wide but that's probably just lack of confidence with leaning the bike or actually turning the handlebars at low speed. The weather will be nice again tomorrow and I'll head to a parking lot to do more practice. My motorcycle safety course is set for the first weekend of March.

Sorry for the ramble!
Mike
Sponsored Links
Advertisement