Near tragic end to my riding yesterday... - Star Motorcycle Forums: Star Raider, V-Max, V-Star, Road-Star Forum
 1Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 33 (permalink) Old 06-14-2011, 07:18 PM Thread Starter

Near tragic end to my riding yesterday...

So, as my log-in-name suggests, I commute into DC daily about 45 miles every day. I have been doing this for about 2000 miles now, but am very newly back to riding.

So, as I have been racking up the miles, and getting more familiar with the roads and traffic, I got sloppy...

Until yesterday morning I had been checking each lane in the mirrors and turning my head each time prior to changing lanes. This one time, I didn't, I checked the mirror only and it seemed I had plenty of room going from left to right. I started to move over, and right into the side of the car I thought was well back of me but turns out it was right alongside me by the time I was moving.

To make matters far worse, while all this was happening at about 60 mph traffic was coming to an abrupt stop right in front of me...

Needles to say I was a bit distracted by almost sideswiping the car to my right that I barely had time to almost lock the breaks to prevent me running right into the car in front of me. Luckily I did not lock the breaks or swipe the car or come to a "sudden" stop into the rear bumper of the leading car.

I had been getting more comfortable out on the road, but this just reinforced my need for constant good habits and never taking anything for granted out there so I thought I'd share.

mk
Aunttudie and Aunttudie like this.

We already have enough youth, what we what we need is a fountain of smart. 1999 Road Star Silverado & 2009 V-Star 650 Classic
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 33 (permalink) Old 06-14-2011, 07:37 PM
Banned

PHEW!
I'm glad you didn't get tangled up in all those cars. At the begining of the story I thought you actually made contact with the car on your right side.