Yamaha Starbike Forum banner

New to the page!

2K views 11 replies 8 participants last post by  Keith Post 
#1 · (Edited)
Hello Everyone,

I am new to the page and figured I would drop in and introduce myself. I've been riding motorcycles for about ten years now and I've owned quite a few bikes; from Yamaha's to Harley's and everything in between. I also am one of the lucky few that get to ride a bike and get paid from time to time. My current personal bike is a 2014 Yamaha Vstar 950. This a bit of a downsize from the last cruiser I owned, A Suzuki Boulevard 1500. However, I like it much better. The belt drive and responsiveness make it such a fun bike to ride. Didn't hurt that I picked it up with 0 miles off the dealer floor. It was a 5 year old new motorcycle that had never sold from 2014. Got a good deal. Anyway I look forward to talking with you guys about all the Star bikes-especially the 950s.

Rubber Side Down !

#2 ·
Welcome from Atlantic Canada. The 950 is a great bike and it sounds like you found a great deal. Lots of knowledgeable, helpful people on here and with your riding experience I'm sure you can offer some tips and advice (like how to get paid to ride - lol). Love to see a pic when you get a chance.

#7 ·
Reactions: Keith Post
#8 ·
Thanks everybody for the welcome wishes. Northern Rider mentioned how to get "paid to ride"... Im a police officer and assigned part time to our motorcycle unit. Its a good gig. Anybody have any recommendations on exhaust systems for the 950? I don't want anything obnoxious but I want it to have a good sound.

#10 ·
Michael,
Glad to have another LEO on board, I’m a 27yr veteran myself.
As far as exhaust suggestions on the 950, we put the cobra slip-on on my wife’s Land vehicle Motorcycle Vehicle Motor vehicle Automotive tire