Sharing some real incidents you've seen on the road with motorcycles - Star Motorcycle Forums: Star Raider, V-Max, V-Star, Road-Star Forum
 12Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 24 (permalink) Old 07-01-2018, 09:31 PM Thread Starter

Sharing some real incidents you've seen on the road with motorcycles

I thought this might be entertaining as well as educational.

I am a retired police officer from the Florida Highway Patrol, 13 years years was spent in traffic homicide with 10 years of that as a supervisor, I have been involved in over 1,000 traffic homicide cases in one way or another.

One case that my squad worked in South Miami on State Road 826 Northbound from NorthBound US 1 was a teenager who was on a Honda 600 cc crotch rocket style bike, his father was with him on one of the big CC engined crotch rocket style bikes. There used to be a Fudd Ruckers burger joint that would have a bike night during the week and the father had brought his son to this bike night. When they left the father entered the State Road 826 expressway Northbound from US 1 Northbound and opened up his bike, this entrance ramp went uphill as it crossed over US 1 so it has a couple of nice curves to it before it straightened out.

The son attempting to keep up with his father on his smaller 600 cc Honda drifted wide crossing onto the right side shoulder where he hit the concrete retaining wall and then his head and upper body hit one of the aluminum light poles killing him.

The father who by then was a good 3/4 of a mile down State Road 826 noticed his son was no longer behind him so he turns around in the Northbound lanes and proceeds to travel against Northbound traffic going Southbound until he came upon his sons crashed motorcycle and his sons body laying on the right shoulder of the roadway.