Ethanol Mileage Data Reporting - Star Motorcycle Forums: Star Raider, V-Max, V-Star, Road-Star Forum
 6Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 12 (permalink) Old 07-24-2018, 12:12 PM Thread Starter
KCW

Garage
Ethanol Mileage Data Reporting

I searched and found several threads going back many years debating the merits and issues of using ethanol blend fuel in motorcycles

but I did not find any where riders tested their own bikes and reported their measured results and data.

Reading in some recent threads tracking Vstar bikes fuel efficiency there were comments being tossed about on 10% ethanol (E10) causing a significant reduction in mpg performance, engine performance, and whether regular vs hi octane fuel offers any difference if your bike does not require hi octane fuel.

This sparked my curiosity and I decided to test my 2005 Vstar 650. I have been running E10 (as far as I know) since I got the bike 5 years and 30,000 miles ago. Its fully stock and typically gets 58 or 59mpg when I check it. On a few longer trips at 50 to 60mph it has bumped up to 61 to 63mpg, but that has been difficult to duplicate.

So... last week I found two gas stations in my entire county that have 87 octane ethanol free gas, using this website: https://www.pure-gas.org/index.jsp?stateprov=NY

there are many that have 91 or 92 ethanol free, but only two that sell 87 "E0".

Filled the bike up with the good stuff last monday, the mileage on the trip odo and the fillup registered 58.5 mpg for the previous tank of E10 fuel. It cost $3.50 per gallon and E10 in my area is selling for $3.00 this week. So it costs 17% more to get 10% more gasoline and no ethanol. I dont understand that at all!

Guess I should mention that GPS shows my speedo is accurate to within 1 mph - but since I was looking for percent change, not absolute mpg performance, that is not an issue.