Antilock Brake System - Star Motorcycle Forums: Star Raider, V-Max, V-Star, Road-Star Forum
 18Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 15 (permalink) Old 12-21-2018, 01:16 PM Thread Starter
Super Moderator

Antilock Brake System

ABS. do we want it on our cruisers? why isn't it already?

although i have zero experience with it on a bike, i've been all for the idea of having ABS on motorcycles since i started riding. it seems like a no-brainer. it prevents you from locking up your wheels and sliding out of control if you need to suddenly stop. no-brainer, right? but as of now, hardly any cruisers have yet to get ABS. the few i've seen have mostly been heavy touring models. most of the motorcycles that have it are streetbikes. why don't cruisers have it yet? cost? lack of demand/support? technology doesn't warrant it yet?

i'm starting to wonder now if i really would want ABS on my bike. when i first got my bike i locked up my rear wheel trying to make a sudden stop because i was riding less than careful. i fishtailed and bumped into the vehicle in front of me. minimal damage, i was lucky. i had grabbed onto both my brakes in a panic. rookie mistake. i haven't locked my wheel or panic-grabbed my brakes since (that i can recall). it was a lesson learned. ABS would have probably prevented me from hitting anything and let me safely control my bike to a stop. if i had ABS, would i have learned to not yank on my brakes in the future? for new riders, even though ABS can help prevent accidents and is a great safety device in that regard, would it actually be a hindrance on learning how to properly brake in emergency situations?