No Half Helmet For Me - Star Motorcycle Forums: Star Raider, V-Max, V-Star, Road-Star Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 19 (permalink) Old 05-11-2015, 02:20 PM Thread Starter

No Half Helmet For Me

I've been riding with a modular full face helmet for the last 18 months since I got back into riding. I rode all last summer with that black helmet. It was HOT even with the vents opened. It was great during cooler weather and I added a balaclava for cold weather rides.

So Friday I was at the motorcycle shop and started looking for something that would provide a little more air circulation and a cooler color than black. I looked hard at the half helmets but couldn't convince myself that was the way to go. I settled on a silver 3/4 helmet with a full face shield.

I rode to Mayberry (Mt Airy) by way of Mt. Pilot (Pilot Mountain) today it is about a 35 mile ride one way and wore my new helmet. On the way back, a vehicle in front of me lifted some small gravels my way on Interstate 74/US 52. We were running 65-70 mph. A couple gravels hit my feet, no big deal since I had my boots on. Two came above my windshield hit my face shield just above my eyes. I'm convinced I picked the right helmet. There are a couple of small dings in the face shield and not my forehead!

It is 93 degrees on my back porch this afternoon and I wasn't uncomfortable hot.

A half helmet likely wouldn't have protected me from these little gravels- from the sound I imagine they would have left a mark!

2013 Yamaha V Star 1300 Deluxe
2011 Yamaha Grizzly 700 EPS
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 19 (permalink) Old 05-11-2015, 04:57 PM

IMO, if you are gonna wear a half-helmet, may as well not wear one at all. They offer such minimal protection.

I won't wear anything but a full face since I found out that shattered jawbones are one of the top injuries in motorcycle accident. Apparently, one's face likes to find hard things to hit on its way over the handlebars.