winter storage prep - Star Motorcycle Forums: Star Raider, V-Max, V-Star, Road-Star Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 08-06-2009, 08:07 PM Thread Starter

winter storage prep

I have a 2000 xvs 1100. i have to store my bike under my deck outside. what should i do for winter storage. i have a motorcycle cover and plan to add a tarp also.

what should i do this winter to prepare the bike.
full gas tank, empty tank, gas treatment?
drain tank and carb?
remove battery and trickle charge, or leave connected and start and run periodically?

do i need to change oil before winter, assuming i dont plan to ride

any ideas to help insulate from cold some

thanks for your input/info, i am new to this.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 7 (permalink) Old 08-07-2009, 09:04 PM

That's a good question vstar23. I'm new to this as well, and wondering the same thing. I live in a climate (east coast of Canada) that gets very cold winter time. I have two choices this winter: 1. store the bike in my shed (unheated) or 2. park my bike in the middle of my living room. I am seriously considering option 2 but probably will go with option 1 just to avoid an argument with my better half. The winters are cold enough here already.

So vstar23, I can't offer you any sound advice (from personal experience), but this is what I am going to do based upon some advice from others I've heard along the way.

1. Store bike in shed (like I said, it's unheated)
2. Cover with a breathable cover to reduce condensation buildup.
3. Change oil before storage (best to do before storage, gets rid of comtaminents that you don't want left in engine all winter) Some people have suggested to change oil again in spring - I'm not sure why - use cheap oil for winter storage and use syn in the spring.
4. Top up gas tank (reduces condensation in tank) and add fuel stabilzer and run for 10 minutes. Turn off fuel petcock.
5. Remove battery and trickle charge in house.