lean in turns? - Star Motorcycle Forums: Star Raider, V-Max, V-Star, Road-Star Forum
 6Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 38 (permalink) Old 11-21-2015, 05:23 PM Thread Starter
Super Moderator

lean in turns?

so i'm re-examining my whole philosophy on leans in turns and curves. i want to start over from scratch. the way i've always felt and was taught was that you move the motorcycle underneath you, not your body. which i still believe is mostly true for cruiser motorcycles, but there's some area for body lean, and that's what i want to re-discover. so how much body lean do you guys use? how much do you increase your body lean with tighter curves or higher speeds? do you even think about it?

on a steel horse I ride
i create motorcycle videos. check them out here

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 38 (permalink) Old 11-21-2015, 06:48 PM

Garage
I started learning about leaning/turning intially from riding dirt bikes as a kid. A few months ago a member made reference to David Houghs books entitled 'Proficient Motorcycling'. I've read the first one and half of volume #2. I highly recommend both as they will help in leaning and turning. Helped me a lot, especially in learning to use the front brakes more efficiently. Just my input.
bevo1981 and bevo1981 like this.
post #3 of 38 (permalink) Old 11-21-2015, 06:50 PM

Garage
I purchased both on line for under $30. IMHO, worth every penny.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 38 (permalink) Old 11-21-2015, 06:51 PM

Garage
Ebay had the best prices.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	1448153465014.jpg
Views:	206
Size:	101.1 KB
ID:	52585  
post #5 of 38 (permalink) Old 11-21-2015, 08:45 PM
Banned