Learning how to lay a bike down ? - Star Motorcycle Forums: Star Raider, V-Max, V-Star, Road-Star Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 16 (permalink) Old 12-19-2015, 06:57 PM Thread Starter
Premium Member

Location: Apopka Florida, a twist in the road just northwest of Orlando Florida My home for over 30 years
Garage
Learning how to lay a bike down ?

So in conversation with my son we were talking about a racing video we had watched and a crash that happened when this guy high sided
in a High speed turn exit .

We kind of wondered how do these racers train to crash or lay a bike down other than the obvious.

It's not like you can just go test theory out.

I've been riding bikes for nearly 40 years and never had to lay one down. Not sure I would know what to do...

so how do you learn this skill ? Trial and error ?
BAD NEWS....

2000 Vstar 650 Classic , Firethorn orange Metal flake Urethane, OEM tall Windshield, 47 Harley Tail light mod, progressive springs, hard bags painted to match w/chr. bullet accents Custom Modified rear rack/backrest, Cobra Modified exhaust w/ chrome Pencil tips, Hyper charger kit,
PRV 15, Riser mounted speakers, Chrome levers,Fringe grips, studded Leather bib with pocket, Billet Oil filter relocation kit , 3.5 PMS w/ stock pilots, mains- 122.5, Custom billet t signals
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 16 (permalink) Old 12-19-2015, 09:56 PM
Super Moderator

i'd rather learn how to keep a bike upright

on a steel horse I ride
i create motorcycle videos. check them out here

post #3 of 16 (permalink) Old 12-19-2015, 10:09 PM Thread Starter
Premium Member

Location: Apopka Florida, a twist in the road just northwest of Orlando Florida My home for over 30 years
Garage
True but there are situations where you would want to lay the bike down and slide off (push off) from it.

This is not a natural reaction. You have to be thinking ahead to be able to execute this reaction in mere
milliseconds.