Your advice on this purchase?.... - Star Motorcycle Forums: Star Raider, V-Max, V-Star, Road-Star Forum
 15Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 17 (permalink) Old 01-06-2016, 11:24 AM Thread Starter

Your advice on this purchase?....

-->I hope this thread is appropriate...I'm new enough that I may be missing where this should go, or whether there's already a thread I missed. If so, mods please feel free to move this

I'm new to bikes, and I have become somewhat addicted quickly. I own an 02 VStar 650 Custom. I DO love it, but would like MORE!

I am looking at an 85 Virago 700 as a light winter project to have some fun with, then sell to make some more $$ for the next bike/project. This bike looks to be in generally good shape. It runs but sputters out when revved too high. I suspect that the carbs need to be cleaned. If such a bike can be had for short dollars, are any of you familiar enough with this model to say it's worth spending a few hours on, or otherwise say "stay away?" I appreciate your input!
Keith Post and Keith Post like this.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 17 (permalink) Old 01-06-2016, 11:33 AM

Garage
Hi fF,
I'm building a bobber over the winter out of a 96' XV750 Virago myself. Engines are pretty stout on the Viragos, and they are the Star motorcycle line predecessors for Yamaha. I've had no problem finding parts, and they were reasonably priced. Riding it home was a blast. Felt like it was a feather weight compared to my 950t. If you're slightly mechanical, they're easy to work on. This is a photo of mine before the tear down.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G850A using Tapatalk
post #3 of 17 (permalink) Old 01-06-2016, 11:40 AM Thread Starter

Quote:
Originally Posted by Keith Post View Post
Hi fF,