taking photos of your bike - Star Motorcycle Forums: Star Raider, V-Max, V-Star, Road-Star Forum
 1Likes
  • 2 Post By nick57

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 9 (permalink) Old 01-17-2016, 11:03 AM Thread Starter
Super Moderator

taking photos of your bike

hello all. this is a public service announcement.
just kidding.
but i would like to talk about taking photos of motorcycles and sharing them online. specifically, how to improve photos of your bike. any tips you think would be helpful to others, please share here. there are tons of photos of motorcycles on this site, and tons of great looking bikes. and it brings a tear to my eye whenever i see an incredible machine in a poorly taken photograph. i am by no means a professional photographer, but i'd like to see everyone improve their abilities of taking simple photos of their bikes so that these kickass machines can be properly shown off. so here are some simple tips that i think everyone can apply with no matter where you live or what kind of camera you use.

1)contrast/blurriness
make sure that photo isn't blurry. i think this should go without saying, but blurry photos do end up online. when you're taking photos, go ahead and snap a few extra shots. cuz if you just take one, then when you get back home and go through the trouble of downloading/uploading and posting and THEN find out that the only photo you took is blurry, you're probably not going to feel compelled to go back out and redo it.

2)angle of bike
feel free to get creative here. there's nothing wrong with just standing back a couple feet and snapping a quick photo, but i don't feel this shows of your bike as well as it could, and it looks like little effort was done to try to show it off. try out different angles. try squatting down a tad to get a more horizontal shot. try shots from the other side of the bike. some from slightly behind or slightly in front to get different perspectives. you may surprise yourself.

3)background