bike communication gear - Star Motorcycle Forums: Star Raider, V-Max, V-Star, Road-Star Forum
 4Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 15 (permalink) Old 09-01-2016, 04:32 PM Thread Starter
NGM
Lifetime Premium

bike communication gear

So the wife and I need a communication setup so when we ride on different bikes we can talk. I wear a modular helmet and she wears a half helmet. Any suggestions on a decent setup? Thanks in advance.

No matter where you go there you are. - Buckaroo Banzai
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 15 (permalink) Old 09-01-2016, 04:48 PM

Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by NGM View Post
So the wife and I need a communication setup so when we ride on different bikes we can talk. I wear a modular helmet and she wears a half helmet. Any suggestions on a decent setup? Thanks in advance.
I'm no expert on this and others will better answer you about options.

But as an avid user of bluetooth to listen to music (and occasionally talk on the phone) while riding, I would suggest a half-helmet will pretty much eliminate any ability for her to hear anything. I tried it briefly (like two rides) and you can neither hear much over the wind and DEFINITELY no mic or foam cover can overcome an "out in the open" scenario.

2007 V-Star 1300

-Cobra Slip-ons
post #3 of 15 (permalink) Old 09-05-2016, 05:07 PM

Boyfriend and I just got the Sena 20s and its great! He wears a modular, I wear full-face. Not sure if it would work with a half helmet, as you position the speakers inside the helmet next to your ears. If she's not opposed to a different helmet, it's a great system! Good luck~let us know what you end up with.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 15 (permalink) Old 09-07-2016, 07:07 AM

Sena has a set up for half helmets. Not sure if it is available for all of their headsets but here is one option:

SMH5 - Sena

If you look under the accessories it shows the following for half helmets