Lane Splitting - Example by Police - Star Motorcycle Forums: Star Raider, V-Max, V-Star, Road-Star Forum
 21Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 24 (permalink) Old 09-07-2016, 01:57 PM Thread Starter

Garage
Lane Splitting - Example by Police

Today while on my way to work a Police officer on a BMW bike pulled in front of me while I was splitting and I followed him for about 20 miles.

I have been splitting for 5 years now every day and while I have had a few close calls, I have found that splitting on the freeway is very safe and all my close calls were from me going to fast. I probably still go a little too fast, but this video just shows exactly how safe lane splitting should be done.

This video is very boring because no danger or high speed is involved.

https://youtu.be/68icRI4JFdk
Keith Post and Keith Post like this.

2007 VStar 1300 Touring (road trip/weekend bike)
2003 FZ-1 (daily commuter)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 24 (permalink) Old 09-07-2016, 02:10 PM

Garage
Drivers out west are familiar with lane splitting since its legal for Police and civilian bikers. With the volume of traffic I see where it's helpful. Back here, drivers don't know what turn signals are used for, too busy smacking their misbehaving kids in their SUVs, and talking/texting to make it safe to lane split. Anytime I go home to SoCal, I cringe when I see a fellow biker lane splitting since I know what would happen locally.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
post #3 of 24 (permalink) Old 09-07-2016, 02:12 PM Thread Starter

Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by Keith Post View Post