What did i do wrong? - Star Motorcycle Forums: Star Raider, V-Max, V-Star, Road-Star Forum
 23Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 26 (permalink) Old 02-23-2017, 11:32 AM Thread Starter

What did i do wrong?

Ok i have a question for the bike gurus. here i go.
On my way to work. normal traffic doing around 40MPH light turns yellow i am too far to make it before red so i hit the front brake and the bike starts swerving all over the road and finally bike falls.
wondering if by any chance i hit the front brake to fast but what would happen in an emergency braking situation? my front brakes didn't work properly?
I am just a newbie that couldn't handle an 1100 bike? mind you road was wet because it heavily rained the night before but tires are like new.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 26 (permalink) Old 02-23-2017, 12:13 PM

Maybe you hit the fronts to hard and they locked up next time try to use both front and back an ease into the front or downshift hope you didn't get hurt

Sent from my SM-J320P using Tapatalk
post #3 of 26 (permalink) Old 02-23-2017, 01:14 PM Thread Starter

I only hurt my ego and besides replacing the engine guard, left saddlebag and left mirror i am good.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 26 (permalink) Old 02-23-2017, 01:20 PM

That's a good thing all that stuff can be replaced had a buddy of mine not to long ago hit an oil slick went down than got run over by the car behind him luckily it only got one leg

Sent from my SM-J320P using Tapatalk
post #5 of 26 (permalink) Old 02-23-2017, 01:35 PM Thread Starter

Damn. Lucky enough i didn't even get a scratch.
post #6 of 26 (permalink) Old 02-23-2017, 01:42 PM

Garage
How hard did you grab the front brake? Did it lock up, or did the steering just become really hard to hold while slowing?

Have you done any front brake testing since then? Do you normally get vibrations under hard braking?
chedobean and chedobean like this.