How important is dealer servicing? - Star Motorcycle Forums: Star Raider, V-Max, V-Star, Road-Star Forum
 1Likes
  • 1 Post By YamahaParExcellence

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 11-28-2018, 06:49 PM Thread Starter

Question How important is dealer servicing?

I am currently working a deal on a gray SVTC.
Dealer's service department near me does not impress me.
I have been doing my own maintenance on two Road Star's since 1999.
120,000 miles on first one and >80,000 on current mount.

So, other than software updates, is there anything on this bike that requires equipment or computer hook ups we can not procure for our own garage?

Would there be any warranty issues if I took over maintenance after the 600 mile service? Assuming I kept good records and reciepts.

Thank you for your inputs.
Gary
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 11-28-2018, 07:50 PM

Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by starbagger View Post
I am currently working a deal on a gray SVTC.
Dealer's service department near me does not impress me.
I have been doing my own maintenance on two Road Star's since 1999.
120,000 miles on first one and >80,000 on current mount.

So, other than software updates, is there anything on this bike that requires equipment or computer hook ups we can not procure for our own garage?

Would there be any warranty issues if I took over maintenance after the 600 mile service? Assuming I kept good records and reciepts.

Thank you for your inputs.
Gary
Unfortunately you are not alone in being able to find a reliable service provider. I myself have a great one, but there are others here in the same boat as you.
Software updates are not difficult and something you can do but there is test equipment and it’s associated software that you’d have a hard time procuring for yourself, but it’s only needed for diagnostics not regular maintenance that I’ve seen.