Rear Fender Strut Bolts - Star Motorcycle Forums: Star Raider, V-Max, V-Star, Road-Star Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 9 (permalink) Old 12-21-2011, 08:42 PM Thread Starter

Rear Fender Strut Bolts

Hi All, I am new to the Yamaha Roadliner and I am having a little trouble. I have a 2006 Roadliner Midnight that I bought used. The bike has throw over saddle bags that I do not like with bag supports. Today I tried to remove the saddle bag supports and I ran into one problem on the very rear fender support bolts. When I was removing the very rear bolts (towards the taillights) I used a 12mm spanner and the left side bolt was a little more stubborn than the others and I stripped the outer edge of the nut under the fender. There is only about a 1/4 of the nut bearly sticking out and is now stripped. Any ideas on how to remove this?

Thanks for your help.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 9 (permalink) Old 12-21-2011, 10:40 PM

Sounds like you will be getting real friendly with your drill that might be the only way to get it off now

Sent from my Motorcycle iPhone app

03 V Star 650 Classic
post #3 of 9 (permalink) Old 12-21-2011, 11:01 PM Thread Starter

Quote:
Originally Posted by SgtCuts View Post
Sounds like you will be getting real friendly with your drill that might be the only way to get it off now

Sent from my Motorcycle iPhone app
Thanks Sgtcuts,
There seems to be a little bracket where the bolt is located under the fender with a gap, I am hoping that a thin 12mm wrench will fit in that gap. I am wondering how others may have taken the rear fender off and how they got a spanner on those bolts.

Thanks again.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 9 (permalink) Old 12-22-2011, 02:34 PM
Banned

I was thinking that those nuts are welded in place to the underside of the fender. Perhaps the PO broke them off and put loose nuts on as a replacement???

It is hard for me to fully imagine a picture of what your describing ??