Clunking on decel - Star Motorcycle Forums: Star Raider, V-Max, V-Star, Road-Star Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 23 (permalink) Old 08-21-2012, 08:53 AM Thread Starter

Clunking on decel

Hi everyone,
I'm new to this forum. I've been riding my 2000 VStar 650 Classic for almost five yrs back and forth to work logging 20,000 miles on a bike that had 12,000 when purchased.Last week coming home I noticed a single clunking sound when I would back off the throttle when slowing for a traffic light. It started off just noticeable and ended up being a LOUD clunk before entering my driveway.
Next day I put the bike on a stand with the rear wheel off the ground and rotated the rear wheel back and forth to see if I could replicate the clunking sound. I could not feel any type of play in the universal joint or make any sounds. I started the bike and shifted into fifth gear and let it run. It made clunking sounds (while idiling in gear) coming from the lower end (similar to something being rather loose in the crankcase. I shut it down, drained the oil and removed the crankcase cover fully expecting to find something very loose inside. I also removed the cover for the middle drive pinion gears for a looksee. Upon inspection I could not locate anything loose so I removed the entire clutch assembly. With the clutch housing removed I rotated the transmission mainshaft back and forth and could definitely replicate a clunking sound when the tranny is in gear. Should I be able to rotate the mainshaft back and forth approximately 30 degrees+ before the shaft engages solid? Seems like an awful lot of play. Just trying to figure this all out.
Thanks for any and all help.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 23 (permalink) Old 08-21-2012, 09:55 AM
Banned