Tires! - Star Motorcycle Forums: Star Raider, V-Max, V-Star, Road-Star Forum
 6Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 13 (permalink) Old 01-07-2018, 11:14 AM Thread Starter

Tires!

I know this probably has been beaten to death, but I'm new to the cruiser scene.

I'm making an offer on a 2015 V Star 1300 Tourer. It will need tires soon. What do I buy? Radial or bias ply? Whats the best mileage tire?

I've had Sport Touring bike for the last umteen years. Figured I'd those in the know! I'm sure the answers will be all across the board, but I need a place to start...

Mutley
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 13 (permalink) Old 01-07-2018, 12:03 PM

Garage
I have an 1100 Classic and I tried a set of Kenda Kruzers last summer. Got about 5500 miles on them and they're about half worn. I expect I'll need to replace them around the 8000 - 10,000 mile mark. Overall, I'm pleased with the performance. My only complaint (and it's minor) is that you get a little roar when cornering because of the tread design. Nothing that would stop me from buying them again though. Based on reviews I was hoping for a little more mileage but for the price I'm not complaining. Here in Canada, where prices are a little higher than in the US, I had both installed for under $450 (I brought in the rims). I'll probably replace them with another set unless I have some extra cash and want to try Michelins or Metzlers.

Paul
2007 Vulcan Nomad
V&H exhaust

2000 V Star 1100 Classic (Sold)
All stock except for:
Kuryakyn Grips
4" Risers
Switchblade Quick Release Windshield
Ugly but somewhat functional saddlebags
post #3 of 13 (permalink) Old 01-07-2018, 07:15 PM
NGM
Lifetime Premium

I run a car tire on the back and run a back tire on the front on my Wing. I will do the same to the Raider when the tires wear out.

No matter where you go there you are. - Buckaroo Banzai
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 13 (permalink) Old 01-07-2018, 08:36 PM

Garage