Tube type or tubeless - Star Motorcycle Forums: Star Raider, V-Max, V-Star, Road-Star Forum
 1Likes
  • 2 Post By KCW

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 4 (permalink) Old 02-06-2018, 02:05 PM Thread Starter

Garage
Tube type or tubeless

Hi, Folks,

I'm new to motorcycles but managed to put on 20,000 km (12,000 m) last season and now need new tires for my Yamaha VStar XVS65a classic.

The tires on there are Dunlop D404 130/90-16 front and Dunlop D404170/80-15 back - both are marked tube type.

All I can find on the 'net are the D404 tubeless and the dealers all say just to use a tube.

When I ask the 'net about doing this the standard reply is to reduce the speed rating by 1 category which really isn't al that important for the speeds on this bike.

I've emailed Dunlop but no reply - I'm wondering does Dunlop still make the D404 tube type?????

Any suggestions or am I over thinking this!!!!

Bill
2015 Yamaha V-Star XVS65A Classic
NOS purchased April, 2017
0.9 km on the odometer
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 4 (permalink) Old 02-06-2018, 02:22 PM
KCW

Garage
You dont lose anything by putting a tube in a tubeless tire.

two things: normally the front tire lasts twice as long as the rear. Unless you are already on the 2nd rear tire since the front one has been replaced make sure you really need the front one.

The other OEM tires for the 650 are from Bridgestone. I have put Dunlop and Bridgestone tires on my 650. I got more miles out of the Bridgestone, plus they are heavier tires, which makes the bike feel more stable and responsive.

The reason a heavier tire is more stable is your wheels are acting like big gyroscopes - the more they weigh, the stronger the self-balancing effect. With the Bridgstone tires you can really feel when you push on the grips into a turn that the bike lays over responsively, because the procession is more proportional to the weight of the entire machine.