Would you replace this tire? - Star Motorcycle Forums: Star Raider, V-Max, V-Star, Road-Star Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 14 (permalink) Old 06-19-2013, 07:07 AM Thread Starter

Would you replace this tire? (pic)

So I'm still kinda new to bikes, and the bike I just sold had brand new tires on it 2 days after I bought it because the old ones were over 10 years old. The bike is tracking really bad, following just about every groove she comes across. The front tire tread is pretty low so I ordered a new ME880 yesterday. This morning I was out looking at the rear, and I'm just not sure. It was manufactured in January 2007, so that worries me a bit, but should it? There is some light cracking on the tire... hell, you be the judge. If I need to order a new rear, I'll go ahead and do that. I'm doing one new MC tire to give me time to learn the bike and get comfortable with her, then I'm probably going DS...

Last edited by Kraig; 06-19-2013 at 07:21 AM. Reason: Spell like a 'tard....
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 14 (permalink) Old 06-19-2013, 12:46 PM

Kraig,
Yes, replace the tire. It's six years old and starting to crack (dry rot). Motorcycle tires need to be able to grip the road and older dry tires do not grip. It's a small price to pay for the safety it offers. You don't want any surprises when entering that decreasing radius turn (like the rear tire slipping out from under you).

Jeff
BLUE BIKE CLUB
2012 V-Star 950T-Impact Blue

Kuryakyn ISO grips
Back-Off taillight modulator
OEM passing lights
OEM luggage rack
OEM engine guards, saddlebag guards and trim rails
Marlin Talon gauges
Show Chrome Headlight & Passing Light visors
Mustang 2 piece wide touring seat with backrest/studs
post #3 of 14 (permalink) Old 06-19-2013, 01:04 PM Thread Starter