Shift Problem - Star Motorcycle Forums: Star Raider, V-Max, V-Star, Road-Star Forum
 18Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 22 (permalink) Old 10-09-2019, 08:12 AM Thread Starter

Shift Problem

Hey Guys, been a while since I've been here, but it's been a busy summer. Anyway, I last rode my buddy's 2000 Silverado edition bike about 6 weeks ago and it rode and shifted fine. I tried to ride it a couple of days ago and I can't get it to shift correctly. I take off in first and it won't shift into second gear. When I put my heel on the shift lever, it feels like it's going into 4th or 5th gear. I'm not a motorcycle mechanic, but am an old retired pipe-fitter with years of automotive mechanics experience. Is there a simple clutch adjustment or something I can check on this bike? I talked to my buddy about it and he said not to worry about it, that he'll just take it to a shop when he gets here in December. I'd really like to fix it for him to avoid him going to that expense. I spent several hours straightening out various accessory pieces that were bent on this bike when his wife ditched it back in April. I have it looking pretty good, but can't ride it right now because of the shift problem. Any and all suggestions will be considered and appreciated. I'd still like to get it sold for him before he comes back and sinks more money into it. That way, I can still collect my 10% commission. LOL
Deeksvstarclassic likes this.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 22 (permalink) Old 10-09-2019, 08:21 AM
KCW

Garage
look at the clutch lever on the handlebar

when you wiggle it with your finger tips there should be about 1/4" of free play, where the lever moves without pulling the clutch cable at all.

If you have no free play then the clutch is not fully engaging when you release it, which will cause the clutch to slip under power (which is not the problem you are having)