Front Pulley nut information - Star Motorcycle Forums: Star Raider, V-Max, V-Star, Road-Star Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 16 (permalink) Old 08-13-2015, 06:15 AM Thread Starter

Front Pulley nut information

Ok as previously posted in HELP!! I stated there was a small leak on the left side pulley cover...So last night I fully removed the cover and verified the pulley nut is looks and this is the source of the oil leaking.

NOW, just need a few inputs on how to fix this...
A) Do I need to change the seal now as well?
B) Do I need to loosen the belt tension?
C) What do I torque the nut to after applying Loctite?
D) Any other helpful hints or things I missed?

Thanks a lot all in advance this will be the first real thing other than fluid changes I have attempted on the motorcycle and still learning. I am a diesel mechanic so I am mechanical, just never worked on any motorcycles before..
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 16 (permalink) Old 08-13-2015, 07:17 AM

You will most likely eventually get the answers you seek from other posters but I will make the suggestion to get your hands on a repair manual. It will detail everything you have already asked in both threads. Also checkout the roadstar forum. Sorry I don't have a direct link. Tons of info there directly for the roadie.

2006 V-Star 1100 Classic
Completely debadged
Silverado windshield and passing lamps
Floorboard extensions
OE Highway bar with custom mounting brackets
Kuryakyn Dually ISO Highways pegs
Kuryakyn grips
Passenger floorboards
Barons Nasty Boy Slip-ons
Maxair pods
Mustang seats
Kuryakyn led headlight halo
post #3 of 16 (permalink) Old 08-13-2015, 07:57 AM Thread Starter