LED headlight bulb help - Star Motorcycle Forums: Star Raider, V-Max, V-Star, Road-Star Forum
 11Likes
  • 1 Post By RhiannonoftheBirds
  • 2 Post By KCW
  • 1 Post By bevo1981
  • 1 Post By patrickdk
  • 2 Post By NorthernRider
  • 2 Post By nurtaeff
  • 2 Post By rn2god

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 07-28-2018, 04:29 PM Thread Starter

Garage
LED headlight bulb help

Hey all,

I'm not a mechanically inclined rider, so I don't really understand some of the issues in posts about headlight bulbs and the discussion about them. Basically, I need a little help understanding what will and won't work with a new LED bulb before I buy one. There's talk about fan-less, non-fan-less, rubber gaskets, all sorts of things that a newbie rider who isn't a "gear-head" (meant with great affection! ) doesn't understand. I'm used to an old Jeep that I could go to Walmart, look it up and buy a new lamp. That's my level of car knowledge. Anything else, someone else has to help me with and/or make sure I don't get screwed at the garage. (Believe me, it has happened and cost me big $$$) Frankly, I'm tired of asking the BF because of that "look" I get because he's a definite gear-head and I'm just not built that way. Give me a computer and I'll run rings around him fixing it.

So, what I'd like to do is get an LED headlight bulb for my stock headlight. It's an '09 950. I want something bright, day and night. I commute to work in the dark in the morning and I'd really like something that doesn't have to be on high beam constantly to feel like I'm seen. I wear my Hi-Vis vest, but I want max visibility.

Suggestions? "Don't get XYZ brand..." "Look for..."???? I've seen Pathfinder LEDs at J & P Cycle, and other sites, that they claim will fit my bike. The prices aren't bad, but reading reviews tells me that it's not that simple. Some have great luck and love them, some have had major fails.
Keith Post likes this.

Quote: