650 differences - Star Motorcycle Forums: Star Raider, V-Max, V-Star, Road-Star Forum
 8Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 25 (permalink) Old 10-27-2018, 05:40 AM Thread Starter

650 differences

I'm new to the vstars, ridden them but never owned one. Are there many changes to the 650 year to year? Were there any major changes in a certain year? The reason I ask is because I'm considering a 2004 so I want to do a bit of research on the older ones.

Thanks everyone!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 25 (permalink) Old 10-27-2018, 06:34 AM
KCW

Garage
this is an older post, but it covers everthing I know about: https://www.starbikeforums.com/forum...ent-years.html

the only changes were modifying the ECU and adding the cat to the exhaust. I think the ECU changes added a throttle position sensor or a cut off switch to the carbs.

The whole drive train goes back to the Yamaha virago 535 from the 1990s. It is one of the most reliable motorcycle engines ever sold (cant say on the market anymore).

There are no design issues with the entire drive train. Early on (around 1999) a handful of bikes got out of the factory without the shaft drive splines being properly lubed with 60% moly paste, and the splines wore out - which is an expensive repair. If you check your drive shaft splines and lube them properly if needed everytime you change your rear tire, the bike is easily good for 100,000 miles with proper oil changes, plugs, filters, and valve adjustment maybe every 16 to 20k miles.

The two models are the custom and the classic (both stupid names). they have different size front wheels (custom is bigger diameter) and different fenders, and the classic has floorboards while the custom has footpegs.

The Silverado is a classic with factory windshield and saddle bags.
post #3 of 25 (permalink) Old 10-27-2018, 08:06 AM Thread Starter