Greasing the 1100 Final Drive Splines? - Star Motorcycle Forums: Star Raider, V-Max, V-Star, Road-Star Forum
 12Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 11 (permalink) Old 04-04-2019, 09:48 AM Thread Starter

Garage
Question Greasing the 1100 Final Drive Splines?

I'm new to shaft drive bikes and I keep reading how when the rear wheel is off, the splines should get lubed. I've also heard about how easy of a job it is to do.

My 2008 1100 has only 3000kms on the odometer and sat for 3 years before I got it up an running again at the end of last summer which I put on 1200 of those 3000kms.

Due to age, I plan on changing the rear gear oil before I get it back on the road this year and figure that since I also already have rear fender off, I might better remove the rear wheel and grease the splines while I am at it. Will it even need this considering how low mileage is on it?

Assume it should be done, Does anyone have an easy to follow how-to? Is this it?
https://sites.google.com/site/vstar1...irs/driveshaft

Because when I read #10 and it talks about removing the rubber boot and how difficult it is, it doesn't sound as easy as I've been reading. Can I get away with just greasing the drive shaft splines and the splines in the rear wheel hub as seen in the picture above #7 and #8?
KCW likes this.

Current Bike:
2008 Yamaha V-Star 1100 Classic

Previous Bikes:
2005 Yamaha YZF-R6T
1990 Kawasaki EX-500
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 11 (permalink) Old 04-04-2019, 10:32 AM
KCW

Garage
the drive splines are "greased for life" at the factory

unless you have reason to think a previous owner took the rear wheel off, wiped off the proper 60% moly paste and put axle grease on (which will ruin the splines in about 5000 km), there is no reason to take the wheel off just to lube the shaft drive

Yamaha did a really great job of making the shaft drive maintenance free - all you need to do is change the final drive 80W90 oil every 20k miles or so.