Maxair vs chubbys vs hypercharger - Star Motorcycle Forums: Star Raider, V-Max, V-Star, Road-Star Forum
 5Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 12 (permalink) Old 04-22-2019, 01:17 AM Thread Starter

Maxair vs chubbys vs hypercharger

I'm new to owning an 1100 vstar custom that has existing aftermarket exhaust. I have been doing lots of research on different intakes and although this topic has probably been covered lots it seems like there is a lot of mixed research and reviews. There also doesn't seem to be any definitive answer as to what's the best option.

There are two thing I'm looking for opinions on:

1. Pods seem like the way to go but I saw this post on Pacific coast star and wanted to see if anyone can back this up with some real
world experience. https://www.pacificcoaststar.com/pcs...ilter-faqs.htm
Is there any real loss at low end rpms? From the reviews I've read, it doesn't seem like their theory is true but at least they have some technical explanations so I think it's worth acknowledging and discussing.

2. Maxair or chubbys. It seems like a lot of people have gone the chubby route since its easier to tune and is cheaper. I'm not worried about the extra cost or the difficulty in tweaking the floats or other parts of the carb. Im wondering why there would be a much more involved tuning procedure with maxair if it didn't provide any benefits. I've read some people's opinions on this saying that they think maxair didn't do as much engineering/research but these don't seem to be backed up by any technical reasonings. Does anyone have any real world experience with each product or some carb expertise who can explain why one product has a much more involved installation process over the other considering how similar they are?

Or if there are existing threads with this information please forward those.

Thanks
CanadianMohawk likes this.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 12 (permalink) Old 04-22-2019, 05:16 AM