650 Cold start problems - Star Motorcycle Forums: Star Raider, V-Max, V-Star, Road-Star Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 12-31-2016, 06:01 PM Thread Starter

650 Cold start problems

My Yamaha 650cc (2009) runs great but getting it to cold start it is a hit or miss. Dealer installed a brand new battery, spark plugs, topped off all the fluids, etc., and had verified the electrical system to be in fine condition. Even with a full choke, it does not start in our current temperatures, ranging between 45 and 55 degrees. Note also that the bike is parked outside -- no garage. A rolling start (being pushed at 10-15mph, 2nd gear) is the only way I can get it started.

Any troubleshooting tips? Also, is continued use of a rolling start harmful to the bike?

Thanks!

SC
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 7 (permalink) Old 12-31-2016, 09:39 PM

Hi Sridhar, I am no expert, but I once owned a 1999 V-Star 650 Classic and currently own a 2000 V-Star 1100 Classic, but if I were you I would try to determine if it was a fuel or spark problem by doing the following tests: I would pull out a plug when it refused to start and see if the plug was wet. If it was wet - you know it is not a fuel problem. Then after the plug dried I would turn it over with the plug still in the plug wire and let it hand down and rest against the side of the cylinder head and turn it over again to see if you are getting spark. If you determine that it is neither a fuel or spark problem then you may want to treat the fuel itself. Is it possible that you have water in your fuel? You may want to try a fuel treatment that is o.k to use in your bike to disperse any water that you may have in your fuel system. I would also see if the bike starts once you put up the kick stand because it may be a problem with the kick stand safety switch and that may be why you can only start it when you kick start it (with the kickstand up). Also, I don't think it is particularly harmfu