starter relay bypass - Star Motorcycle Forums: Star Raider, V-Max, V-Star, Road-Star Forum
 4Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 16 (permalink) Old 07-06-2019, 10:27 AM Thread Starter

starter relay bypass

Hey guys
i have a 2002 roadstar 1600 i am going trough relays quite a bit and dont know why i have tried both oem and after market oem last about a month or two aftermarket last about a week. is there a solution that i am missing? or is there a way to bypass to relay ???
Deeksvstarclassic likes this.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 16 (permalink) Old 07-06-2019, 10:46 AM

Garage
I hope someone with more knowledge on this answers the call. I am not a mechanic or electrician. It sounds like the starter is drawing too much current (brushes worn out). The starter relay i believe is there to protect the rest of the electrical system. I don't believe you want to bypass it. I am not sure how to check the amp draw on the starter. I believe it will blow cheap volt meters.
Good luck and let us know what you find.

I ain't lost until the tank is empty!
post #3 of 16 (permalink) Old 07-06-2019, 01:25 PM Thread Starter

one thing i have not checked its the the draw from the starter i will do that thanks for the reply.i will update on what i find out
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 16 (permalink) Old 07-06-2019, 01:38 PM
KCW

Garage
the way starter works, the starter button sources about 1A of current to the stater relay

the starter relay closes and it sources about 30A of current to the starter motor

so you see the problem with bypassing the starter relay, the starter button cannot source 30A directly, it would melt (but first it would blow its small fuse).

If the starter has been working with the replacement relays, its possible the starter is drawing too much current, but that should blow the main fuse (30A).