Buying a used VStar 650 Classic - Star Motorcycle Forums: Star Raider, V-Max, V-Star, Road-Star Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 23 (permalink) Old 03-13-2010, 11:08 PM Thread Starter

Question Buying a used VStar 650 Classic

Hello, I'm glad I found this forum. I've put a hold on a used 2005 VStar 650 Classic and I'll be picking it up Tuesday. It's my first "real" motorcycle although I've been riding scooters for a few years.

The bike looks to be in great shape. I followed a guide for inspecting used motorcycles here: http://www.clarity.net/~adam/buying-bike-content.html. It has 28k miles which I understand is a little high but the bike shows no signs of being crashed or dropped hard. (A little scuffing on the crash bars)

A few things did bother me though and I wanted to run them by the folks here since you've probably seen a lot more VStars than I have. The area around the key ignition looks like it's missing something and I can see wires exposed behind. Something to worry about? I found a part that might be what I'm looking for, they call it "neck trim" . There is also some wiring exposed behind where the license plate would go (just above the brake light housing) but I assume that would be covered up by the license plate mounting. Should I worry about taking additional steps to prevent rain from entering?

The price is $2,900 which seems incredibly reasonable to me. It took the guy 3 times hitting the ignition before the bike started cold but I don't think he had the choke out. Once it started it stayed strong and sounded fine.

Thanks for any experience you can share. I appreciate the input.

-Kevin
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 23 (permalink) Old 03-14-2010, 09:15 AM