Preferred Oil & Filter For V Star 650? - Star Motorcycle Forums: Star Raider, V-Max, V-Star, Road-Star Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 04-23-2010, 10:55 AM Thread Starter

Preferred Oil & Filter For V Star 650?

I am new to the v star 650 world, and I am going to change the oil on my bike this weekend. It has 17,000 miles on it, so I am a bit nervous about synthetic oil (not sure what it has right now) seeing as how it might clean out any debris and cause leaks. Any truth to that from experience? That being said, what is everyone's preferred oil and filter choice?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 7 (permalink) Old 04-23-2010, 12:25 PM

I'm a big fan of Mobil 1 V-Twin 20w-50 synthetic with a stock filter.
post #3 of 7 (permalink) Old 04-23-2010, 08:21 PM

Oil

you will find lots of opinions on this subject. Don't think you will go to far wrong with any of them. I use Yamaha oil and filters. But the important thing is regular oil changes. There is a caution in your owners manual about oil aditives and oils with friction reducers. Here is a link to some reading on the subject.

http://www.sloneservices.com/SilverB....htm#Which-Oil

Dave
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 7 (permalink) Old 04-24-2010, 05:11 PM

Before my engine teardown I was running Amsoil 20w-50 (40k miles). Now I have Bardhall 20w_50 Synthetic blend. But I am thinking switching to Mobil 1 20w-50 do to the availability and price. By the way the oil did not have anything to do with having to tear down my engine. That is another story.

Doug

Live to Ride, Ride to Live, Work to support Life
post #5 of 7 (permalink) Old 04-25-2010, 05:07 PM