engine jetting question - Star Motorcycle Forums: Star Raider, V-Max, V-Star, Road-Star Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 15 (permalink) Old 06-09-2010, 10:19 PM Thread Starter

engine jetting question

hi everyone i'm new to this web site, but i had just bought a 2003yamaha v star 1100 classic and i'm not very smart about the motor. so my question is the bike has cobra longboy exhaust on it and i had taken the baffles out because the sound it makes without them is so sweet. now the old owner said he had rejetted it for the pipes but how do i know if taking the baffles out will hurt the motor what signs should i look for or should i not worry about it. thanks for any answers. josh
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 15 (permalink) Old 06-09-2010, 10:44 PM

It should be alright , but just to be on the safe side run it for a week or so and check your plugs. If it is running too lean your plugs will be a very light color. They will look too clean.

SMELL MY FINGER

RED BIKE CLUB It's Lonely At The Top
post #3 of 15 (permalink) Old 06-09-2010, 11:53 PM

I agree!

Quote:
Originally Posted by HTMNKYLVE View Post
It should be alright , but just to be on the safe side run it for a week or so and check your plugs. If it is running too lean your plugs will be a very light color. They will look too clean.
I agree if its running too lean, they will look white, kinda chalkie looking. What your looking for is a tan to brown color on the plug, and if they are black it means your running too rich. Good luck, I just did a modification on the airbox on my 1100 custom and it lean it out some so I had to close off the old air intake port in favor of the new port I put in the front of the airbox. My plugs were showing signs of chalkie look, so I had to close off the old air intake port.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 15 (permalink) Old 06-13-2010, 09:55 PM Thread Starter