popping with the jet kit! - Star Motorcycle Forums: Star Raider, V-Max, V-Star, Road-Star Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 06-25-2010, 09:12 PM Thread Starter

popping with the jet kit!

Hi all i'm new to buying pipes and cruisers and pretty much everything motorcycle. I bought Cobra pipes from the dealership where i bought the bike from with the jet kit they installed and i just picked it back up today. It sounds great. Except there is more popping than i care for at low speeds and when shifting. And when letting the engine break. This erks me i thought the jet kit was suppose to do away with the popping?

It sounds really good when cruising interstate or highway, (although i did notice a bit more vibration in the handlebars over 70mph), but the popping sound can't be right. Is there a break in period? Should i contact the dealer yet again and ask about this? Thanks for any help guys.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 5 (permalink) Old 06-25-2010, 11:08 PM

Actually the Mikuni Tuning manual says that some crackling and popping is to be expected from a properly tuned bike with an open exhaust. What you can do to help with this is adjust the PMS screw out about 1/4-1/2 turn and or remove the AIS if you haven't already. The PMS adjust will help with the sudden leaning when you chop throttle and the AIS will help by cutting off a supply of fresh oxygenated air in the pipes.

GW
2005 1100 Custom
Speedster Slashdowns
ORKed 5/16" Lines
PODs K&N RU-600s W/PCV
PCS XXX/2 cams
Jetted & PMS Tweaked 20.0/152.5 3.0 turns
AIS Removed/Plugged
Wimmer Machine Custom Oil Cooler & Stash Tube
Pro-1 Tach
Dyna 3000 Step 5/ 6500 redline
TPS Connected
6" Fwd Control Extension W/Boards F&R
Memphis Shades Bullet Fairing
Progressive 465 rear
Progressive Springs and GVE front

10,000 Monkeys throwing crap at the glass and this one thinks he's Picasso...
post #3 of 5 (permalink) Old 06-27-2010, 08:55 AM Thread Starter