Good mechanic in L.A. - Star Motorcycle Forums: Star Raider, V-Max, V-Star, Road-Star Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 01-10-2011, 08:44 AM Thread Starter

Good mechanic in L.A.

I am looking for a good knowledgeable mechanic in the valley or just somewhere in the LA area for my '02 1100 classic. I had a cheap mechanic do work on it and now I need a professional to fix it. I was just going to take it to Yamaha but I thought I would see if there might be someone else as a back up. Thanks
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old 01-10-2011, 05:03 PM

You might want to tell us what the problem is. So far, with the help of the people on this forum, I've been able to do all my work by myself. If it's already broken, what have you got to lose?
post #3 of 6 (permalink) Old 01-10-2011, 05:51 PM Thread Starter

The problem I am having is first of all I am not a mechanic for internal engine issues. I am strickly a "bolt on" type mechanic. So the problem I am having is that I had my starter clutch replaced recently on my 2002 v star 1100. First of all after he replaced the parts for this repair he was not able to put the side cover back on. He needed to look up how to put it together and also had someone else help him as to how to put the parts in the motor correctly. That was the first red flag with this idiot. So after waiting a week or so he was able to put it together. When I picked it up I noticed it sounded like it had a muffler leak or something. There was nothing wrong with the mufflers before I sent it in for repairs. I took the pipes off and looked at them closely and there was nothing wrong with them. I am very confused as to what he could have done wrong to cause the bike to sound pipey (if that's a word). Some people are telling me it might have something to do with timing or valves. The bike seems to have the same power and it idles fine but it does backfire a little on decel. It kind of did that before an