Help with front brakes. - Star Motorcycle Forums: Star Raider, V-Max, V-Star, Road-Star Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 10 (permalink) Old 03-05-2011, 02:47 AM Thread Starter

Help with front brakes.

G'Day all.

Any advice here appreciated.

I have an old 98 V Star that I have just restored, however the front disc brakes have started leaking brake fluid. I have the tech' manual and would appear the caliper piston seals need replacing. These seals were in the bike when I bought it so I don't know how long they have been in for.

With brakes being such an important component, would it be foolish of me to try and replace these seals myself. I am not a mechanic by trade but worked with and performed basic services on hydraulic spreaders/shears/rams used for rescue purposes but that was a long time ago, and I remember there being procedures for purging hydraulic lines after seal replacements.

Thanks in advance.

Last edited by Aussielad; 03-05-2011 at 02:49 AM. Reason: edited by aussielad
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 10 (permalink) Old 03-05-2011, 08:16 PM

While the seals are easy to get, the calipers are not covered in depth in the VStar maintenance manual. You might need to get a CMM (Component Maintenance Manual) for the caliper. You'll need the brand and model number. You might be able to get that off the part itself, or you might need to contact your dealer. Having said that The only calipers I have rebuilt were on a Ford Explorer. I have rebuilt many types of hydraulic brakes over the years. The earliest were '48 Willys Drum and the latest were 2002 Ford Explorer. It's not that difficult of a job with the proper tools. First and foremost if I were going to do this job, I would get a manual and read through it to see if my/your abilities match up against the job.