too much oil? - Star Motorcycle Forums: Star Raider, V-Max, V-Star, Road-Star Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 12 (permalink) Old 03-29-2014, 11:58 AM Thread Starter

too much oil?

So I recently changed my oil, this is my first time doing it on my bike (03 1100 classic). Well I followed instructions of other members which said 3.25 quarts, I only put 3 in to start. Well long story short after putting everything back together and firing it up to let the oil circulate I feel like theres too much in there. When I get the bike as level as I can and check through the oil glass it seems like it covers the whole glass and not inbetween the two hash marks.

What did I do wrong that 3 quarts was too much where other put in 3.25...
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 12 (permalink) Old 03-29-2014, 03:08 PM

Stupid question but, did you wait long enough for the oil to settle?

2009 1100 Classic
Memphis Fats Windshield
Cobra Slash Cuts
Hypercharger/pod-mod
4" floorboard extention
Mustang studded Hard bags
Showchrome sissy bar
Hopnel windshield bag
Stebel Nautilus Ear Cannon Horn
assorted chrome add-ons
post #3 of 12 (permalink) Old 03-29-2014, 08:40 PM

Garage
Did you change the filter too? When I change mine with the filter 3 quarts brings it to the middle of the sight gauge.

Working on my 'bucket list' and enjoying every minute of it!!

Old V Star Man
2007 V Star 1100 Classic
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 12 (permalink) Old 03-29-2014, 09:22 PM

sit on the bike and hold it level and have someone else look at the site glass. I have an ORK on my bike and with a oil and filter change it takes 3 quarts of oil to get the level between the marks on the site glass. if your filter is inside the crankcase then 3 quarts should bring the level close to the top of the site glass. thats if the bike is level.

02 Vstar 1100 classic
Samson Warloard Ripsaws
chubby pod kit/maxair pms screws
barons ork
kuryakyn isso grips
breakaway cruise cont.