Old bike: Low or high miles better? - Star Motorcycle Forums: Star Raider, V-Max, V-Star, Road-Star Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 10 (permalink) Old 03-29-2014, 02:04 PM Thread Starter

Old bike: Low or high miles better?

Hey all! I'm brand new to biking, and looking at an 02 1100 classic with about 4,000 miles on it from the original owner. Question:

If all other aspects were constant, would you prefer an older bike to have low miles (knowing it's been sitting quite a while), or high miles with a good maintenance record? I'm wondering if I would be buying a bike that would take a ton of maintenance to make it a reliable ride (tires, cables, seals, carb?). Thanks much!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 10 (permalink) Old 03-29-2014, 03:01 PM

I would prefer one that had been ridden bit not worn out. Around 1000-2000 miles a year is what I look for.
Sent from Motorcycle.com Free App

2007 Vstar 650 Custom
Engine Guard
Floor Boards
Memphis Windshield
Mustang Vintage One Piece Seat
Saddle Bags
post #3 of 10 (permalink) Old 03-29-2014, 06:06 PM

I would prefer a machine used lightly but often than one used equally lightly but infrequently. Sitting is the worst unless the machine is very well prepared for storage. Maintenance records will indicate how often the machine is used.

2013 Yamaha V Star 1300 Deluxe
2011 Yamaha Grizzly 700 EPS
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 10 (permalink) Old 03-29-2014, 08:16 PM

I prefer a low mileage bike that was stored correctly. For long tern storage rull tank with stabill in the fuel and the carbs run dry;. a lot depends on the elements.
post #5 of 10 (permalink) Old 03-29-2014, 09:05 PM

02 1100 classic