Problems with my 2004 VSTAR 1100.. HELP - Star Motorcycle Forums: Star Raider, V-Max, V-Star, Road-Star Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 12 (permalink) Old 07-21-2014, 06:44 PM Thread Starter

Exclamation Problems with my 2004 VSTAR 1100.. HELP

So the egine light is on my VSTAR, ive done plenty of research and all I could find is how to read the code by looking at the light pattern..but so far ive found no way of knowing what the code stands for....im fairly new to Cruiser type motorcycles so bare with me.... after switching on the key and the lights cycle, the check engine blinks 5 times slowly and 8 times fast... does anyone know what the code means??.. some one told me it could be the TPS, others tell me its the bank angle sensor?

Thank you guys for any help i can get!!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 12 (permalink) Old 07-21-2014, 07:19 PM

5 slow = 5
8 fast = 8

Fault code 58 = Fuel cut solenoid valve #2
post #3 of 12 (permalink) Old 07-21-2014, 07:25 PM Thread Starter

is that something that will cost me alot $$$??... is it still rideable?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 12 (permalink) Old 07-21-2014, 07:44 PM

It means that the fuel shut off solenoid on the carb for the front cylinder is inoperable. It's not a big deal. They are there to shut off fuel delivery a few hundred RPM before hitting the rev limiter so you don't flood the catalytic convertor with raw fuel. This only applies if you have the stock exhaust.

I have a solenoid delete kit available to get rid of the solenoids and keep the light off. It runs $25 shipped. If you'd rather just replace the solenoid, I have one of those too.....also $25 shipped. Or...you can just ignore the flashing...

Sick Mick* 2006 V Star 1100 Custom

--- Striping, lettering and paint by Sick Mick – 6* Tree - 2" extended forks – 21" front wheel - HK Sideburners - Progressive rear shock – Pods – Sick Mick solenoid delete - Spring seat - and other stuff