hey guys new to aftermarket parts help please - Star Motorcycle Forums: Star Raider, V-Max, V-Star, Road-Star Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 02-28-2015, 06:42 AM Thread Starter

hey guys new to aftermarket parts help please

Hey everyone i just bought a 07 vstar 1100 custom on october and wanted to get some riding in before winter... Its my first street bike and im new to all of this so here it goes i want to add a ss custom cycle chubby air kit to the bike and was doing my homework about needing aftermarket pipes and wanted to make sure my cobras were full pipes and not slipons and i found out they were the speedster longs.... Now with looking into that i read about your exhaust popping on deceleration and revving it and something about an AIS being removed properly to eliminate the popping... So im curious what is the AIS? how do i check if it has been removed properly and is there a possibility the previous person rejetted with the exhaust and if so how would i check that?

Thanks in advance for the help guys im jist worried about screwing my bike up
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 5 (permalink) Old 02-28-2015, 06:53 AM

Garage
John the AIS system is an anti pollution system that pumps air in the exhaust to allow for a better burn of the exhaust gasses. If your AIS is removed completely there should be no chrome piping from both the front and rear cylinders. Another way of checking is to remove the left rear chrome cover and check for a plugged rubber hose. If this has you confused, have a look at the KB there's a really good write up on how to remove the AIS. You can find the link to the KB in my signature block.

2009 Stratoliner S

A few things added and more stuff to follow

https://sites.google.com/site/vstar1100kb/
post #3 of 5 (permalink) Old 02-28-2015, 06:57 AM

https://sites.google.com/site/vstar1...r-must-do-list i have the same bike you might check out my album pics i have the cobra longs.