Front Cylinder Not Firing - Star Motorcycle Forums: Star Raider, V-Max, V-Star, Road-Star Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 15 (permalink) Old 05-01-2015, 10:09 PM Thread Starter

Front Cylinder Not Firing

Hello everyone, this is my first post to the forums and I am here as a last resort before taking my bike to the shop. Normally I have good luck because someone else has had my problem and I can dig up the answer. In this case I am at a loos and hoping someone can point me to something I have overlooked. I have limited knowledge in this area but am a do it your self kind of guy and have completed oil and filter changes, final drive fluid changes, valve adjustments and basic stuff like this.

I have a 2004 XVS1100C with 20k. I am the 3rd owner and ride regularly in the summer. I have had the bike for 3 years now and have not had any problems up until this point. When I purchased it from the last owner I was told it had cobra drag pipes, hypercharger, and the carb were jetted. The bike ran well the last two seasons with the exception of needing to leave the choke on longer than normal on cold start. The end of last riding season I ran the bike with the fuel valve shut off to drain the bowls. (Maybe this was a mistake) I also added stabil to the fuel before doing so hoping this would avoid any gumming up of the carbs. Normally I start throughout the winter but this year I did not. Once is started to warm up I tried starting and had a very hard time and finally when I did get it running it sounded funny. After a bit of searching around I found that the front cylinder was not firing at idle, but would fire when revving the engine. This is the point I decided to pull the carb off and clean it. I have never done this before so I did some reading on the process and took my time.