Need some help - variety of questions - Star Motorcycle Forums: Star Raider, V-Max, V-Star, Road-Star Forum
 4Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 12 (permalink) Old 08-19-2016, 09:34 AM Thread Starter

Need some help - variety of questions

so - I went for about a 40 minute ride last night, and while riding, some questions popped into my head that I could use some advice with.

I have a 2005 1100 Classic

1. Gas Mileage - so...I reset my trip meter at each fill up. I'm still really new to this bike, so I don't know my miles per tank yet. At what mile count do you all start looking for a gas station? I know it all varies based on many factors, but I'm just talking generically here.

2. I feel dumb asking, but I cannot find an answer online. In this picture, is the fat end or the pointed end the indicator? My assumption is the pointed end, but looking for clarification

3. I have arthritis and when I sit with my knees locked without moving for 15 minutes, they start to hurt. The added constant vibration doesn't help either. I was hoping for some suggestions on ways to allow for me to stretch my legs out. Highway bars, extend the controls...I dunno. I'm only 5'7", so I don't need much, but I need something. Maybe it's a simple as altering the way I sit.

4. fairing vs. windshield for wind protection. I have the windshield pictured below. It works well enough but I was wondering if a fairing that goes all around the handles would direct wind off me better.

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 12 (permalink) Old 08-19-2016, 10:23 AM

Garage
1. I start looking for gas around 100 miles and have had to flip it to reserve before around 115 miles or so. I usually get between 35 and maybe 42 miles per gallon. YMMV with a different year or different mods. It varies depending on weather, wind, in town or out, 1 up or 2 up but I figure if I try to get gas by 100 miles there's no chance I'm pushing it for gas...lol.