Backfiring through exhaust - Star Motorcycle Forums: Star Raider, V-Max, V-Star, Road-Star Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 9 (permalink) Old 09-29-2016, 03:03 PM Thread Starter

Backfiring through exhaust

2003 Vstar 1100 Custom:
I purchased max air PMS screws for my Carburetor so I can adjust them on the fly. I have a clymers manual that states europian and Australia models are 3 turns out on both carbs. Well I'm not sure that's right as I turned out both to 3 turns and am getting backfiring on acceleration through first and second gear. I do have a cobra exhaust on it so I'm sure it must be adjusted but I'm not sure how many turns out I need to be. I'm assuming its running lean is why it is backfiring but at 3 turns out seems it would run rich. I'm no expert jut wondering if anyone has any insight. Also I have to remove the air filter housing every time I want to adjust them so it's not a ride and turn thing, gotta make a short loop around the neighborhood firing off shotgun blasts to pull back in park it and remove the air filter housing to adjust it. Any thoughts and tips are appreciated. Thanks guys
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 9 (permalink) Old 09-29-2016, 03:58 PM

The PMS controls fuel supply with a closed throttle. If it is backfiring on acceleration you have a totally different issue. Vacuum leak, plugged pilot or main jets, stuck or popped out needle. It could also be improperly adjusted valves.

Sick Mick* 2006 V Star 1100 Custom

--- Striping, lettering and paint by Sick Mick 6* Tree - 2" extended forks 21" front wheel - HK Sideburners - Progressive rear shock Pods Sick Mick solenoid delete - Spring seat - and other stuff

Last edited by Sick Mick; 09-29-2016 at 08:16 PM.
post #3 of 9 (permalink) Old 09-29-2016, 04:06 PM