Yamaha Starbike Forum banner

TPS adjustment v star 1100

18K views 11 replies 5 participants last post by  bkirwan 
#1 ·
I have a 2003 v star 1100 custom, pods, dyna ignition, and I get the clunk sometimes when I start it if I give it more choke than it needs and it normally clunks loud when I kill it (I am starting it correctly). It eventually twists the bolts on the starter motor.

I want to check the tps to make sure everything is in spec because from what i've read that is the likely culprit. However, I can't seem to get a reading when I try to measure the resistance. I've never used a multimeter before, so I'm guessing I'm the problem.

Can someone tell me how to get a reading? I've read in the manual what to touch to which wire, but I can never get a reading. On the wiki page it says not to stick something larger than a pin in the connector under the seat, but I don't even know what I would stick a pin too. I have tried touching the the metal part sticking up corresponding to the wire, but I can not get a reading from that. Any help is appreciated, thanks.

#3 ·
So I got the aligator clips and same result. When I say I can't get a reading, I mean I never get a reading, not like I do now and then but can't keep the pins on it. I tested the aligator clips on a battery and they work. So it's not the multimeter or clips. The meter always reads -1, which is what it does when I short it together. When I put it on 2000k ohms I can get a reading of 100, and sometimes it fluctuates to 300 but I think that is just because it's not a very expensive multimeter.

I included some pictures of how I hooked it up incase I'm doing something wrong.

Could the tps be shot, but my bike is still running alright because I have a dyna 3000?

Attachments

#4 · (Edited)