Yamaha Starbike Forum banner

Vstar help xvs650a classic no spark

29K views 16 replies 7 participants last post by  sipseyriverlover 
#1 ·
Hello Vstar riders. My 2003 vstar xvs650a classic. I went to start it and it turn over and herd the the cylinder fire once and then no sparks after that. I have searched the internet wide for schematics and troubleshooting etc. I have a question and really need someone who knows this bike. No sparks!

I have gone thru fuses connectors checking changing plugs checking for sparks with pluf out and grounded etc.. No spark. Now as I understand the schematics as I'm an electronics tech but not very mechanical. The safety switches including the kill switch does two things .one is opens the firing circuit. And opens the starter circuit .

So if any of the safety switches are bad number one the bike will not even turn the starter. So if the bike will turn the engine then all the safety switches are good. So ruling out plugs switches connectors and even measuring stator at 1.5 ohms on any of the three pins.that's all good.. Checked firing coils and voltage to them.good