Apparently I now own a VStar 1300 - Star Motorcycle Forums: Star Raider, V-Max, V-Star, Road-Star Forum
 31Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 16 (permalink) Old 07-16-2018, 05:57 PM Thread Starter

Apparently I now own a VStar 1300

Hello everybody. I have been riding for 4 decades and was recently given a 2007 VStar 1300 with 32.0 miles. (Literally 32.0 Miles) I will introduce myself here and see if I can get some help on the first issue, then I will scour the site looking for the help I need and probably post this issue again in the appropriate forum.

My friend bought it, got into an accident in his truck before he even got the pipes changed out. It has been sitting in his garage/carport ever since and he has finally decided to just get rid of it. Health issues are getting him down and having to walk around it everyday really bums him out. I want to get it running and either sell it or use it around town. He wont take any money. But, his wife works for me, so I might sneak it into her paycheck if I do sell it.

He tinkers with it all the time. keeps the oil and gas fresh and battery charged, and does "stuff" to it. (i think he bobbed the fender over the weekend) It starts right up, and here is my issue...It won't go into gear. Kickstand was up, clutch pulled, push shift lever down... Instantly stalls and jerks forward. I don't think it is a kill switch since it jerks. If I remember the SECA I had in the 90s, I had bypassed a couple of kill switches. I took as much slack out of the adjuster on the lever as I could, but, I wasn't able to do any diagnosis in the driveway because he gets tired very fast and we had already been talking for a while in the heat of the day before I tried to ride off. He has no recollection of doing any work, but the bike has had some love. ( straight pipes and "hyper charger fuel injection system". I am going to trailer it home unless it is something silly.