Hi from Ontario - Star Motorcycle Forums: Star Raider, V-Max, V-Star, Road-Star Forum
 42Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 59 (permalink) Old 07-28-2018, 11:02 AM Thread Starter

Garage
Hi from Ontario

Hello!

My name is Adam and I live in Ottawa, Ontario. I've been riding motorcycles since 2003. My first bike was a 1995 Kawasaki EX500 I rode for 2 years. My last bike was an 2005 Yamaha YZF-R6T which I bought brand new, rode for 10 years and sold 2 years ago. I was recently gifted a 2008 Vstar 1100 Classic from my father. It's been heavily modified cosmetically. More than you'd think necessary for the very low amount of Km's on the odo. It was also put away wet and had been sitting in storage for 3 years. Needless to say, there is/was a lot of work to do to get it running which I started work on last week. So far I've cleaned out the carbs, resolved a rusty gas tank and changed the oil. It started up on second try but had a hard time idling without the choke on. I would turn the choke down and it would stall out so I left idling with the choke partially on to burn the gunk out. It's seems to be getting better and hopefully sitting for a couple days with Seafoam in the fresh fuel that's been run through it will help more. I've also increased the idle speed a bit so now it will idle with the choke off and was even able to ride it (first gear only) around the front (gravel) laneway.

I have a few questions to ask but can't yet post in the other sections of the site. What do I have to do to post elsewhere?