Yamaha V-star 650 starting problem - Star Motorcycle Forums: Star Raider, V-Max, V-Star, Road-Star Forum
 2Likes
  • 1 Post By blueblitz09
  • 1 Post By Diogenes415

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 08-15-2018, 09:59 AM Thread Starter

Garage
Yamaha V-star 650 starting problem

So i am new to motorcycles and dont know a whole ton about them. I bought a 2000 Yamaha V-star 650 classic and have discovered a problem with how it starts. It doesn't have a problem running at all, its just when its off for a while, sometimes as little as 20 minutes, i have to crank the starter for a long time before the engine will start up. The guy that sold me the bike told me that i have to turn off the pepcock everytime i turn off the bike. When i do, it makes it a little easier to start the bike but not always. Im just not sure where to start into fixing it. Any Ideas?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 7 (permalink) Old 08-15-2018, 03:02 PM

Garage
Assuming you are choking it correctly, I would start with the battery. You have to have over 12 volts from your battery for the starter to actually start the bike. Anything less, the starter just spins. Hook some jumper cables to it, from a good battery, and see if it starts any easier. If that works, you need a new battery. If that doesn't work, it could be a myriad of other things. Spark plugs, carburetor may need to be cleaned, or may have a vacuum leak. I would put about 4 ounces of Seafoam per tankfull of gas for the next couple of fill-ups, sure wont hurt anything. Seafoam is like magic in a bottle for fuel systems. When I bought my wife her 650 this past March, a new battery fixed what sounds like this same problem.
KCW likes this.

I don't have to have fast, I just have to have fun!
post #3 of 7 (permalink) Old 08-15-2018, 03:18 PM

Garage